Ready or not here I come – Thoughts from Rob Lederer

As I sit in the Miami terminal ready to embark on what I’m certain will be a trip of a lifetime, it is hard for me not to reflect on the last 24 hours. If the next 24 hours are anything like the past 24, I’m certain it will be exciting. 24 hours ago I woke up in Fairfax, Virginia and headed to the voting polls for our local city election. My name was on the ballot for re-election for my fifth term as mayor of the City of Fairfax. While I was running unopposed, you never take any thing for granted in a local election. I’m proud to report, however, I was re-elected. My plan was to attend an election night celebration event, say a few words and head out to the airport to fly myself down to Miami for my early a.m. flight to Haiti. As a result of a voting machine glitch, what should have been a quick in and out event turned out to be a marathon and I headed out for the plane at 9:30 p.m. and a five hour flight at night into a very large and intimidating thunder storm. I arrived in Miami at 5 a.m. in time for a quick shower, a cup of coffee and a short walk to check in for my flight. Let’s hope I now have all the bad luck behind me and the next few days will be free of issues.

I have no idea what to expect over the next few days other than what is certain to be a life-altering trip and experience. While I’m not certain I want to go on this trip, I’m certain that it is the right thing to do and will present me with one of those few opportunities in life to truly make a difference in the lives of the people of Haiti. Just swalled my malaria pill and on my way!!!! Next stop – Haiti.

Rob Lederer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment